SA committed to Antarctic Treaty

Environmental Affairs Minister, Barbara Creecy, says South Africa is committed to the Antarctic Treaty which regulates international relations with respect to Antarctica – Earth’s only continent without a native human population.

Representatives of the departments of @HigherEduGovZA and @DepartmentPWI , together with our own department are exploring ways to reduce the carbon footprint of our polar supply and research trip, the SA Agulhas II, during research expeditions. #AntarcticaSeason
— Environmentza (@environmentza) December 4, 2019

The treaty has been in force since 1961 and currently has 54 signatories. It sets aside Antarctica as a scientific preserve.

Minister of @environmentza @BarbaraCreecy_ launches 2019/20 #AntarcticaSeason today at the Cape Town International Convention Centre.
— South African Government (@GovernmentZA) December 4, 2019

Creecy delivered the keynote address at the launch of the 2019/2020 Antarctica season in Cape Town. Diplomats from ten countries that use Cape Town as a gateway to Antarctica attended the launch.

We’re at the launch of the 2019/20 #AntarcticaSeason at the @CTICC_Official today 


<script async src=

The Motoring Clinic

Top 5 Topics